Today would be my Daddy’s Birthday

22 Dec

Tho he had died years ago in September, Today I celebrate the good times I remember.

he shared lots of stories from the past, road rage would hit and he would drive real fast.

naps, cigarettes, and a shot of whisky,   ‘Na zdorov’ya ‘  he would say to me.

short tempered, poor, hands unclean, hard – worker, sarcastic and awfully mean.

stubborn, funny, detail orientated, the cars he drove and things he wore were a bit outdated.

2 daughters and a son, his unconditional love was a prize the 3 of us won.

welder, fighter, hammer and saw, 5 lucky kids called him Grandpa.

good times, bad times and in between, days have gone so fast since he has last been seen.

I often wished a different one I had, but now that he is gone I miss my Dad.

So today I celebrate memories with great cheer, the man I wish could still be here.

Happy Birthday Joe! I love you!

One Response to “Today would be my Daddy’s Birthday”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Today would be my Daddy’s Birthday « Soccer Mom in Giggle Town -- Topsy.com - December 22, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Cup of Joe w/ Jeanie, Cup of Joe w/ Jeanie. Cup of Joe w/ Jeanie said: Written just for you Today would be my Daddy’s Birthday http://goo.gl/fb/vefkW […]

Leave a Reply

