Christmas Gifts on a stay-at-home mom, one income budget

29 Nov

The C Teams Christmas is quite simple. Our priority during this time of year is the celebration of our Lord Jesus birth. The winter months are a difficult time financially for us, as work slows down for my husband in his line of work.

Our Christmas list usually includes one of the following for each child:

  • toy
  • outfit (top & bottom)
  • book
  • movie
  • game

Stocking Stuffers are also a necessity and our tradition makes it a great morning/day!
We include the following for each child:

  • individual serving of cereal
  • cute spoon
  • bowl
  • cup
  • tooth brush ( the cool battery operated kind)
  • favorite toothpaste travel size
  • cologne for boys, perfume for girls (travel size)
  • new pair of gloves
  • letter from Mom
  • letter from Dad
  • letter from Santa

This is great plan. It makes Christmas shopping a breeze and does not put stress on our budget nor our relationship. The kids know that this is how
we celebrate Christmas and we enjoy each other during the holidays. Every now and then I wonder if they would be happier if they got all the cool toys and games like all the other kids. If I would be happier if my husband purchased me a diamond or two each year. But that is just the world barging into my head. I excuse those thoughts out of my head as quickly as I catch them.

If we had more money I would like to provide things for people in need, not more stuff that my family wants.

Sponsoring a child (I would sponsor them all if I could)

Toys will break, games will get tired of, diamonds never get worn with a stay-at-home moms attire! But love, family, special traditions and good food lasts a life time of love and memories that can be shared over and over and over again!

Many Blessings & Giggles to you and yours this simple and loving Christmas Season!

Mama's Losin' It

4 Responses to “Christmas Gifts on a stay-at-home mom, one income budget”

  1. Renee Ann November 29, 2010 at 2:55 PM #

    Love your Christmas giving ideas–especially the stocking stuffers with letters from Mom and Dad. When I was little, I truly just enjoyed the fun of gift opening. We used to get socks, undies, pajamas–and so enjoyed it! . . . I haven’t raised kids but have spent time with plenty of them in my classroom. The happiest kids are the ones who know they’re cherished by their parents, not the ones with all the stuff! But you must see that every day in your own house!

    • Jeanie Cullip November 29, 2010 at 6:13 PM #

      I received alot of socks and underwear as a kid as well. I think the most important factor into Christmas morning is making it special, and you cannot purchase that at the mall! Thank you Renee

  2. Allison @ Alli 'n Son December 9, 2010 at 12:03 PM #

    Sounds like a simply lovely Christmas.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Families Create Brimming Stockings at Walmart Full of Toys, Candy and Savings for $25 or Less « Soccer Mom in Giggle Town - December 9, 2010

    […] Ark., (Dec. 8, 2010) – Families are approaching stockings this year with the same savvy budgeting they are using throughout….  To help customers create brimming stockings for a total of $25 or less, Walmart is offering […]

Leave a Reply

