Before I Was A Mom

3 Nov

Before I Was A Mom

I had unstained clothing.

I had quiet conversations on the phone.

Before I was A Mom

I slept as late as I wanted.

I got to brush my hair and teeth every day.

Before I Was A Mom

I cleaned the house each day.

Never tripped over toys

Never had to memorize lullabies.

Before I Was A Mom

I had never been

pooped on,

spat on,

peed on,

chewed on

Before I Was A Mom

I had complete control of my mind,

My thoughts,

My time

Before I Was a Mom

I never held a sleeping baby

Never felt my heart breaking

Never knew that I could love someone more than myself.

2 Responses to “Before I Was A Mom”

  1. LBDDiaries November 4, 2010 at 11:12 AM #

    That is really good – really!!! It reminds me of one I wrote years ago when mine was a super young – I think he was 2 (based on the copyright).

    http://joy-cafe.com/Poetry/RealLove.html

    Yours touched my heart – you are so right – you finally love outside yourself.

    • Jeanie Cullip November 5, 2010 at 8:18 AM #

      I love your poem on Joy cafe.. that site is great.. I saw a different side of you today, Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

