A message from the Lord

2 Nov
Cover of "Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace i...

Cover via Amazon

Imagine one day you are sitting at home and the phone rings…. ring.. ring.. ring.. ring.. you pick it up and hear a quiet yet powerful voice that you are not sure you have heard before but it is soothing so you say hello. On the other end you hear the following:

Do not be discouraged by the difficulty of keeping your focus on Me. I know that your heart’s desire is to be aware of My presence continually. This is a lofty goal: you aim toward it but never fully achieve it in this life. Don’t let feelings of failure weigh you down. Instead try to see yourself as I see you. First of all, I am delighted by your deep desire to walk closely with Me through your life. I am pleased each time you initiate communication with Me. In addition, I notice the progress you have made since you first resolved to live in My presence.

Read the rest of this message and more messages in the devotional book Jesus Calling by Sarah Young. 365 messages written as tho they are written from Jesus’ point of view, thus the title Jesus Calling. My Discovery Group leader read this today and it gave me a new outlook on my self esteem as a woman and my growth as a Christian, similar to the feeling I received when Jesus pointed out to me that the Proverbs 31 Woman was attainable after all.

The sentence that I highlighted above in red spoke to me.  Jesus saying ” Instead try to see yourself as I see you.

In our christian walk as we mature we focus more and more of what is ahead and focus more and more on Jesus. When we visually look at someone, if we are close to that person and the light is right we can see our reflection in the other person’s eyes. When we see our reflection of our-self in Jesus’ eyes we will see the blood covered, stain free, sin washed, forgiven child of God that He sees.

Each day we must not look in the mirror to see what the world sees. We must turn towards Jesus and see what He sees so that we are reminded that we are perfect in Him. We are without fault in Him because He created us just the way we are. (Hebrews 4:14-16)

Even tho there are times that we fall and lose sight of that!

God’s grace is so good, isn’t? I am so thankful for my Jesus ( I think I have another thanksgiving & praise for this month)

One Response to “A message from the Lord”

  1. LBDDiaries November 4, 2010 at 11:21 AM #

    I love that line “see yourself as I see you”. The best thing I ever learned is that God sees me through the blood of Jesus. Jesus paid the price and is standing between me and wrong – so God sees me redeemed. Keep up the good work! You are a great encourager.

Leave a Reply

