The Recipe of My Writings

18 Jul

I interrupt my sabbatical to share with you something that I put together today after my daily blog reading (one of the habits I have developed during my sabbatical). I came across Nirvana Mama’s posting From the Author of “Eat, Pray, Love … which included a wonderful must see video of Elizabeth Gilbert speech on writing, anxiety of success and the process of creativity. ( I mean as soon as you finish reading this you need to watch it.) While she spoke of her interpretation of her creative process and of others I began to think of my own. Where does mine come from if not from a fairy or genius (once again, have to watch the video). I imagine my creative process as a divine recipe from above. The ultimate creator and chef, God, birthed inside of me my abilities and inspiration from the very beginning.

Blending together my life experiences, my knowledge & education, my passion, my environment and my mind. Folded together with my sense of humor, my attitude, my perception, my emotions and my understanding. When carefully created and placed on paper with pen at hand it is a delicious combination of words of joy love & hope to type up on the computer to share with my neighbors near and far.
In response to Elizabeth’s concern of keeping ‘sane’ during this process? For me

Knowing that I cannot obtain all of the ingredients alone. Therefore the completed creation is a masterpiece or catastrophe only when the ‘cook or waitress’ (me) decides to whip up something on my own.

I am not saying that there will not be any mediocre meals served; however, if all of the ingredients are blended by The Chef’s hand even the least enjoyed morsel can still produce a lesson learned.

Now click here and read her post & watch the video and feel free to come back & let me know if it inspired or lifted you!

I now return back to my sabbatical – I am enjoying my time of rest and gaining resources & habits. Tomorrow I begin the ProBlogger’s Build a Better Blog in 31 Days Challenge with the SITS girls. I look forward to my return September 1st with new series like Simple & Scrumptious in the kitchen

Blessings & Giggles to you & yours,

Don’t miss a thing! Subscribe to Soccer Mom in Giggle Town now.

8 Responses to “The Recipe of My Writings”

  1. Cheryl D. July 18, 2010 at 10:23 PM #

    Hi! I’m visiting via the blog hop with 31DBBB! I’m currently reading Eat, Pray, Love. What a great book! I can’t wait to see the movie!

    • Jeanie Cullip July 19, 2010 at 5:35 PM #

      Looking forward to reading the book and seeing the movie! I think Julia Roberts is in it. I like her

  2. LBDDiaries July 21, 2010 at 10:06 PM #

    I like anything inspiring that makes me think and grow (sort of like your website)! Having been in ministry for over 20 years, it is important to me to keep it FRESH – you help me do that.

    • Jeanie Cullip July 22, 2010 at 3:15 PM #

      Thank you so much for saying that it means a lot to me! you are to precious.

  3. Leslie @ crunchybetty.com July 28, 2010 at 3:43 PM #

    Oh, this is so lovely. A refreshing reminder that anything can be a masterpiece when you use all the ingredients.

    It did, though, make me realize in an oddly sharp way that there is so much I want to learn and become and experience, and so little time to do it in! (Not sure why it made me think that, but I’m a little sweetly melancholy now.) 🙂

    • Jeanie Cullip July 29, 2010 at 12:58 PM #

      Leslie I have learned that every day is a day to learn something new and gain from it for tomorrow! That is life in a nutshell- learning today for tomorrow. (interesting..)
      Blessings & Giggles!

  4. Kari August 2, 2010 at 6:32 PM #

    Hi! I am a new follower from the Mom Bloggers Club

    Hope you can stop by and visit my blog!
    I am hosting a Tuesday Twitter Hop and would love for you to enter
    http://shining2save.com

    Have a great week!
    Kari

  5. Nirvana Mamma August 3, 2010 at 10:19 PM #

    Loved this! So sorry I’m so late! I suck at email, so I miss link backs sometimes. So glad you joined up.

Leave a Reply

