To whom it may concern

12 Jun

I am writing today to inform you that Soccer Mom in Giggle Town, Gig Harbor Stay at Home Mom Examiner and 24/7 Moms Inspiration Editor is taking a break. I am in desperate need of a sabbatical.

A sabbatical defined by Dictionary.com is any extended period of leave from one’s customary work, esp. for rest, to acquire new skills or training, etc.

Why do I need a sabbatical? Because I am a stay at home mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, and a writer. None of which have the benefit that allow me to take a vacation or take a day off. (We took a vacation in May which was great, however vacationing with your kids is harder than being at home.. you just get to visit a lot of people that you do not normally see and do a bunch of fun stuff all in one time period). I am spinning in circles as I speak and I have begun to spiral downward. I have been pulled in every direction. This is beginning to show in my writing. I started with a clear focus of what I would share, my focus now is fuzzy gray and I have begun more projects that I want to handle for this period in my life. (I became a stay at home mom to take care of my children not to work at home).

So today, Saturday June 12, 2010 will be the last that you will hear from me until my return of Wednesday September 1, 2010.

I am looking forward to my summer sabbatical. As the children will be home from school I will be able to place more focus on them. When my husband is home from work instead of running to my desk to meet a deadline or complete my writing goals for the day I will run into his arms and rest with him.I will pursue reading my bible more, journaling more, praying more, and spending more time with my best friend Jesus. The bible states in Matthew 11:28

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

This summer sabbatical is some personal time for me to regroup and allow myself to breathe. Summer time is a wonderful opportunity to break up your routines and allow simplicity into your home.

I leave you with a prayer (and a tear that has fallen down my cheek) that you may all find rest this summer and that you all will find some time to get away and spend the extra time with those who need it the most.

Blessings & Giggles to you & yours,

Don’t miss a thing! Subscribe to Soccer Mom in Giggle Town now.

11 Responses to “To whom it may concern”

  1. Dianna June 23, 2010 at 8:35 PM #

    God Bless you on your well deserved sabbatical!

  2. Friends & Family June 23, 2010 at 8:50 PM #

    *Way to go! I think it is great that you are taking a break to stay healthy. Good for you for recognizing the signs and then finding help. I think this will be a good thing for all of you. And you’ll most likely learn some good lessons to share in the fall. Enjoy the time off.

    *Enjoy your summer, take time for you and your family on your sabbatical.
    You will be in my prayers and we will miss you this summer but look forward to having you back in September.God will use you in great ways as you continue to seek his direction for your life

    *Thank you for the update. I so enjoy reading your articles and am sad to hear what you are going through. Knowing of your history with depression I know that it is important for you to get a handle on it and I am thankful you have found an outlet and a group of people to help and allow you to recover. I will pray that with this support, you will be able to rid your life of your axiety, depression and anger. It’s a long battle, but I know you are a strong, determined woman and can do anything you set your mind to. Know that you will be in my thoughts and prayers daily and I look forward to reading about your journey on your blog. Even though we haven’t seen eachother in years, know that I am here for you in any capacity that you need me. Your health, happiness and overall wellbeing is important to me.Call or email anytime you want to talk or let me know next time you are in Puyallup and lets go have coffee. I also want to meet that sweet Lilly!

    *I’m so glad that you are taking care of yourself. Keep in touch and let me know if there’s anything I can do to help.

    *You have always been in my prayers, and always will be.. I really do miss you guys a lot. I do wish yoiu peace and tons of rest this Summer. I hope to read more of your bloggs then.
    Thanks for everything you have done for me…. hope to hear from you soon. God Bless you and your family… Please give the kids a hug from me..

    *This is so cool, and a well thought out plan for now anyway, I sure will pray for you and your relationship with the Lord……

    *I want to applaud you for taking a sabbatical. I believe it is wise and something that our world needs to better understand. I know God will honor your decision to step away, focus on your own emotional health, and experience the healing He has for you.

  3. Mama Mirage June 25, 2010 at 1:18 PM #

    When you need a break you gotta take one where you can get one! I hope you have a great break and enjoy recovering from vacation. 😉
    Stopping by from New Friend Fridays.

  4. Miz Dinah Gogina June 28, 2010 at 9:05 AM #

    Stopping by from SITS. We all need a break now and then. Enjoy your summer off!

  5. Alexandra June 30, 2010 at 3:56 PM #

    Good idea to listen to what you know you need.

    Lovely to meet you!

  6. Meagan June 30, 2010 at 9:58 PM #

    Sure…just when I find your blog… I have to wait until September. Oh well, everything worthwhile is worth waiting for. I hope your break gives you the rest you desire.

  7. Michele - The Professional Family Manager July 12, 2010 at 1:07 PM #

    I think it’s wonderful that you are taking a break! Somehow, somewhere, it became one of the so-called “rules” of blogging that you can’t take a break…or, if you do, you’re supposed to schedule guest bloggers or write a bunch of posts in advance, but still keep up on Twitter and Facebook. I know the blogsphere is somewhat “competitive” in terms of followers and what not, but I hate the idea of jumping through hoops to “make it” if it means the writing quality or the passion just isn’t there. And, quite truthfully, I don’t follow those blogs that are all fluff and without substance.

    Good for you for doing what is right for you!

    Have a wonderful summer! “See” you when you get back!

  8. CNA jobs August 20, 2010 at 9:08 AM #

    Terrific work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the web. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this post higher!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Recipe of My Writings « Soccer Mom in Giggle Town - July 18, 2010

    […] Blog, creativity, Elizabeth Gilbert, Inspiration, Nirvana Mama, sabattical by Jeanie Cullip I interrupt my sabbatical to share with you something that I put together today after my daily blog reading (one of the […]

Leave a Reply

