Genesis 15 & Mom’s Devotional

11 Jan

Genesis 15 God’s Covenant with Abram

The word of the Lord came to Abram in a vision

Do not be afraid, Abram
I am your shield
your very great reward

Then one of my favorite verses of the bible

Look up at the heavens and count the stars – if indeed you can
count them, so shall your offspring be

Thousands, millions, billions, trillions of stars. More stars than you can imagine are out there. That’s how many offspring will come from Abram.

Father Abraham had many sons, had many sons of Father Abraham. I am one of them and so are you so lets just praise the Lord!

(I love that Sunday School song) My son was singing it earlier this evening when I read him the scripture that I was writing about.

Mom’s Devotional Bible: Wrong Choices
Passage Genesis 19

Genesis 19 makes it very clear of what a bad choice is. Maybe all of our choices are not that extreme, but we have every once in awhile made a choice that was not lined up with God. Elisa Morgan points out whether an affair or selfishness it is a disobedience and their are consequences.
Sodom & Gomorrah Destroyed shows us God’s power and judgement without sacrifice. Today’s reading reminds me that I can be thankful for Jesus’ so that our sins (small or big) can be forgiven.

Romans 3:20-22 Therefore no one will be declared righteous in his sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin.
Righteousness Through Faith But now a righteousness from God, apart from law, has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference

1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you so much for giving us life. Thank you for honoring your promise to Abram and making him Father to all nations. I am one of those among many just as those stars, I am among those who need Jesus. Just like those in Sodom & Gomorrah I have made wrong choices, doesn’t matter if they are small or big, they are all sin. My judgement would be great and mighty just as they received, just as I deserve. But with your grace you have given me Jesus. With Jesus I am forgiven of those wrong choices. Thank you. I love you. Amen

Blessings to you and yours until tomorrow

One Response to “Genesis 15 & Mom’s Devotional”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Genesis 19 « - July 26, 2010

    […] Scripture to return to. Sodom and Gomorrah Destroyed. If you remember or if you would like to read Wrong Choices from January 11th Mom’s Devotional Reading. Sodom and Gomorrah had lists of wrong choices that were completed […]

Leave a Reply

