Genesis 9, 10 & 11 and Mom’s Devotional Bible

8 Jan

God’s Covenant with Noah Genesis 9:11-17

Every time I see a rainbow I am ever grateful for this promise. I remember the promise that God made with Noah and his family.

Genesis 9:11-17 ~ I establish my covenant with you: Never again will all life be cut off by the waters of a flood; never again will there be a flood to destroy the earth.”
12 And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: 13 I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14 Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. 16 Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”
17 So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.”

Genesis 10 The Table of Nations

The Japhethites sons of Japheth, The Hamites sons of Ham, The Semites sons of Shem. These are the clans of Noah’s sons according to their lines of descent within their nations from these the nations spread out over the earth after the flood.

Genesis 11:1-9 The Tower of Babel

All on earth spoke one language, Men moved east and settled in a plain in Shinar. They wanted to make themselves a city and within that city build a tower that reached to the heavens. They wanted to make a name for themselves. The Lord did not like this idea so He confused their language so they could not understand one another, He also scattered them across the earth so that they would not continue building the city. That is why the city was named Babel because the Lord confused the language of the whole world there.

Mom’s Devotional Bible Friday : Out of Control

Elisa Morgan explains this passage this way. The survivors of the flood began cooperating with one another, in their minds they had life under control. God confused their languages and scattered them because God wants to be in control of our lives. She teaches us that we are to live lives that are in a way out of control. Because only when we are out of control can God be in control!

Additional Scripture Readings:

Deuteronomy 4:32-40

2 Corinthians 12:9 ~ But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Leave a Reply

