Genesis 6 & 7 Moms Devotional Bible

6 Jan

Genesis 6 & 7 The Flood

Genesis 6:3 The Lord says: My spirit will not contend with man forever, for he is mortal, his days will be a hundred and twenty years. (Well this finally explains why we do not live like Adam who lived 930 years!) I am thankful for God’s decision to make our time on earth shorter, I like the earth, but could you imagine living here for 900 years!! When my children are grown and my time on earth is complete I will be ready for my home in heaven.

Genesis 6:6-7 The people of the earth became very evil which grieved the heart of the Lord, He grieves that He made them. The Lord chooses to wipe away the slate clean and start all over. I tend to think that I would like to wipe the slate clean every now and then, would like to start things all over, but then I would miss out on all the lessons that I have learned. I would’ve missed out on all the laughs, tears, sorrows, and pain. Just because I wiped the slate clean does not mean that I would not have anymore either. I could experience new ones, worse ones……

But I am not God, and God He knew what He was doing. He chose to start all over again with Noah. Genesis 6:8 states that Noah found favor in the eyes of the Lord. A righteous man, Noah was, blameless among the people of his time. Father of 3 sons Shem, Ham, and Japheth. The Lord told Noah that He was going to save him and his family from this destruction of the earth and all mankind. In order for his family and the creatures to stay alive, Noah would need to build an ark. Noah in good faith did everything the Lord commanded him to do. The flood waters came and filled the earth. Everything was washed away, only Noah was left with those with him in the ark, just as the Lord promised.

Are We Still Afloat? Mom’s Devotional for Wednesday

Passage: Genesis 6:5-14

Elisa Morgan makes a valuable point that wood can float on top of water for awhile without getting too wet, however God has made it so the water does not affect the wood. Because with time the wood begins to soak up the water and eventually it becomes waterlogged and sinks. Just like Christians and sin. We can float on the surface of sin, but eventually the sin soaks in and we begin to sink. Daily we tread in waters that threaten to sink us. She finishes with the note that help comes first in recognizing our tendencies to water log. Then she asks Where are we sinking? What steps could we take to “dry out”?

Personally I begin to water log when I do not place some water coating on. Prayer and the Word! If I do not find time to place on the full Armor of God I am up against my day alone! So my personal steps to dry out and to keep dry is to stay in the word and continue my conversation with my Father above. When times of trouble come I need to lean on Him and trust Him. At the end of my day I need to Thank Him for all that He has done, for without Him it does not go as well.

Additional Reading Readings: Psalm 14:1-3 & Psalm 51

Blessings to you and yours until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

